The Electronic Journal of e-Government publishes perspectives on topics relevant to the study, implementation and management of e-Government

For general enquiries email

Click here to see other Scholarly Electronic Journals published by API
For a range of research text books on this and complimentary topics visit the Academic Bookshop

Information about the European Conference on Digital Government is available here

Chief Editor: Dr Carl Erik Moe








Bilde nov15 ADSC_0236

Dr Carl Erik Moe is a Professor of Information Systems at the University of Agder, Norway. After serving as Head of Department (HOD) for a number of years, he is back to research and teaching. As HOD he took a leading role developing graduate programs in both Information Systems and Health Informatics, and PhD program in Information Systems as well as promoting and generating research collaboration with local government and industry.

Carl Erik has served as Program Chair of IFIP EGOV 2012. He is an active reviewer for several academic journals. He was one of the founding members of the Scandinavian Workshop on e-Government, of which he is still very much involved and he has served as leader of the Norwegian Council for Information Science.

Carl Erik’s current research interests include e-Government covering issues such as Procurement of IS and Policies and Strategies for Digital Government including Open Government and ICT4D, and it includes e-Health covering issues such as IS in Social Work, Telecare and Information Systems in Integrated Care.

Carl Erik served as Associate Editor on EJEG for several years before taking over as Editor. He welcomes both empirical and conceptual work and case studies with practical implications, and he encourages work on emerging topics and open and smart government. His ambition is to keep up the good academic quality of the journal at the same time as encouraging work in progress and establishing a case section in the journal.

  Associate Editors  

Mary Griffiths

Dr Mary Griffiths is Associate Professor in Media (University of Adelaide, South Australia). Mary is a regular European track chair on e-participation, publishing on innovative strategies, citizen-government relations, and mediated democracy. Current interests include open government and media regulation.


Capture2  Dr. Alea Fairchild assists on technology policy issues. Her special area of interest is the development and use of intelligence and technology in product planning and business strategy. Her technical expertise lies in open architectures and interoperability. She excels in CxO level interactions on technology trends and future forecasts.

CaptureDr. Salah Kabanda is an NRF rated researcher from the University of Cape Town, South Africa. Her research interest is in the social political implications and unintended consequences of adoption and use of ICTs in business and in government in developing countries. Her work engages in and critiques the key research foci, methodologies and theoretical perspectives adopted by researchers when studying technology in developing countries. 

Capture3 Alain Ducass is an independent reearcher with expertise in innovation and e-Government, including e-ID and Cybersecurity. He has been involved in many projects for donors and emerging countries, with small and large consulting firms. Alain has 40 years of experience as a French civil servant, and has been Director of the Digital economy for the Ministries of Economics & Finance and Head of the digital country planning unit for the French Prime minister.


The editor and Associate Editors can be contacted at  


Advisory Board

  • Professor Emiritus Sharon Dawes, Centre for Technology in Government, University of Albany, State University of New York, USA
  • Professor Maung Sein, University of Agder, Norway
  • Dr Frank Bannister, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
  • Dr Dan Remenyi, Academic Conferences and Publishing International Ltd, UK





  • Kim Andreasson, DAKA advisory AB, Sweden
  • Gil-Ad Ariely, Interdisciplinary Center Herzliya, Israel
  • Sa¨d Assar, Telecom Ecole de Management, France
  • Alina Badulescu, University of Oradea, Romania
  • Frank Bannister, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
  • Tuna Baskoy, Ryerson University, Canada
  • Ramon Bouzas, University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain
  • João Alvaro Carvalho, Universidade do Minho, Portugal
  • Walter Castelnovo, University of Insubria, Italy
  • Agustí Cerrillo-i-Martínez, Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Spain
  • Christopher Chua, Batangas State University, Philippines
  • Andreiwid Correa, Federal Institute of Sao Paulo, Brazil
  • Michaelene Cox, Illinois State University, USA
  • J. Ignacio Criado, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain
  • Susana de Juana-Espinosa, Universidad de Alicante, Spain
  • Mitja Dečman, University of Ljubljana, Faculty of Administration, Slovenia
  • Charles Doarn, University of Cincinnati, USA
  • Muriel Foulonneau, Luxembourg Institute of Science & Technology, Luxembourg
  • Shauneen Furlong, Territorial Communications Ltd., Canada
  • Chiara Garau, University of Cagliari, Italy
  • Mila Gasco-Hernandez, Center for Technology in Government - University at Albany - SUNY, United States
  • J Paul Gibson, Telecom Sud Paris, France
  • Dimitris Gouscos, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
  • Panagiotis (Panos) Hahamis, Westminster Business School, University of Westminster, United Kingdom
  • Teresa M. Harrison, University at Albany, United States
  • Ibrahim Maysoun, Beirut Arab University, Lebanon
  • James McQuiston, The University of Akron, USA
  • Tomasz Janowski, UNU-EGOV, Portugal
  • Evika Karamagioli, University of Athens, Greece
  • Luc Lagrandeur, Laurentian University, Canada
  • Gustav Lidén, Mid Sweden University, Sweden
  • Pedro Manuel Martinez-Monje, Unviersity of the Basque Country, Spain
  • Adela Mesa, University of the Basque Country, Spain
  • Harekrishna Misra, Institute of Rural Management Anand, India
  • Mohamed Ali Mohamed, Cairo University, Egypt
  • Tomasz Papaj, University of Economics in Katowice, Poland
  • Ajax Persaud, University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Igor Pihir, Faculty of Organization and Informatics, University of Zagreb, Croatia
  • Massimo Pollifroni, Department of Management, University of Turin, Italy
  • Sonia Royo, Universidad de Zaragoza, Spain
  • Delfina Sá Soares, University of Minho (UMinho) / United Nations University Operating Unit on Policy-Driven Electronic Governance (UNU-EGOV), Portugal
  • Rodrigo Sandoval, Universidad Autonoma del Estado de México, Mexico
  • Demetrios Sarantis, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
  • Imran Sarwar, Mixed Reality University, Pakistan
  • Sasikumaran Ssreedharan, King Khalid University, Saudi Arabia
  • Dalibor Stanimirovic, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • Virgil Stoica, Alexandru Ioan Cuza University of Iasi, Romania
  • Evgeny Styrin, National Research University Higher School of Economics, Russia
  • M P Thapliyal Thapliyal, HNB Garhwal Central University, India
  • Radu Adrian Vasiu, Politehnica University of Timisoara, Romania
  • Roxana Voicu-Dorobantu, Bucharest University of Economic Studies, Romania
  • Ewa Ziemba, University of Economics in Katowice, Poland
  • Ibrahim Zincir, Yasar University, Turkey
  • Dimitris Zissis, University of the Aegean, Greece